Tom Sucks

Everything sucks, but we can make it suck less

A rose by any other name… April 16, 2005

Filed under: General — Tom @ 7:08 pm

Sometimes a Brand name becomes the name for the action, or it becomes a genericized trademark. For example, someone might say that they were going to go Xerox something, a reference to Xerox brand copy machines. Does anyone say they’re going to Bell their girlfriend? Maybe bellend, but that’s for another time. Maybe you’d Berners-lee a website, or Cerf the net. (I like that last one.)

I really think we should use these terms more often, myself. BBL, I’ve gotta go Berners-Lee the WorldWideWeb.

 

2 Responses to “A rose by any other name…”

  1. Vardyr Says:

    Personally, I do my best to avoid using terms like that. I don’t ask for a Kleenex, I ask for a tissue. I don’t Xerox anything, I copy it.

    On the other hand, it’s fun to screw over large corporations… so be my guest!

  2. Sander Says:

    “bellen” is the dutch verb for calling someone on the phone.


Leave a Reply

