Tom Sucks

Everything sucks, but we can make it suck less

Mozilla Legal sucks December 7, 2006

Filed under: Mozilla,Mozilla Firefox — Tom @ 5:33 am

So, I decided I’d sponsor a Firefox Flick and get my name on the screen. Just my name, just one ad, right? Well, now they wanted a release form, which I asked for clarification on. First, the form.

PUBLICITY RIGHTS RELEASE

Thank you for agreeing to help fund a Mozilla Corporation (Mozilla) Firefox
Flicks television advertisement! Mozilla may wish to use your name in
connection with the television advertisements that you help fund to let the
public know about your generous contribution. Please read the release below
and, if you agree to its terms, please reply to this containing email.

I, the undersigned participant, hereby grant to Mozilla, its successors,
licensees, and assigns, the exclusive, perpetual right, with the right to
grant others, but not the obligation, to use and reuse my name by any and all
methods and means, whether now known or hereafter devised throughout the world
without limitation in connection with the Firefox Flicks television
advertisements that I help to fund.

Mozilla may, at its option, use my name in connection with television
advertising and television news and entertainment releases regarding Mozilla
or Firefox. I acknowledge that I will have no right of review or approval
over the use of my name so long as Mozilla uses my name in the following
form: ______________________. I represent and warrant that I am the person
whose name appears in the preceding sentence. I expressly release Mozilla,
its agents, successors, licensees, and assigns, from any and all claims,
demands, and liabilities by reason of my participation in Mozilla?s use of my
name as described above.

I warrant that I am fully authorized to grant the rights granted in this
release. I understand that Mozilla will rely on the contents of this Agreement
in publicizing Firefox and Mozilla. I warrant that I am 18 years of age or
older.

If you wish to grant Mozilla the rights described herein, you must read this
terms of use agreement and indicate your acceptance by replying to the email
with your name filled in. BY REPLYING TO THIS EMAIL WITH YOUR NAME FILLED IN,
YOU REPRESENT AND WARRANT THAT YOU HAVE READ, UNDERSTOOD, AND AGREE TO BE BOUND
BY THIS RELEASE.

If you read paragraph 2, it says that they can use my name in whatever whenever and by whoever, but then they (seemingly in misreading a form release) say it’s only for the firefox flicks ad i funded.

paragraph 3 goes into saying they can use it whenever they want in media, and says they can do it in any ad without my permission. I thought this was just for the one firefox flicks ad, I don’t want to sign away my name in perpetuity!

So I said no. Please clarify or refine.

I was told I’m just gonna get refunded. That’s not what I wanted. Mozilla Legal sucks.

 

2 Responses to “Mozilla Legal sucks”

  1. Tom Sucks Says:

    I like how “in the following form” is there. How about “In the firefox flicks ad only”. Could I put that there? That’s the form I’d like it to be.

  2. nick botulism Says:

    if you’re concerned, maybe you should consult a lawyer, instead of trying to interpret it yourself.


Leave a Reply

