Tom Sucks

Everything sucks, but we can make it suck less

Transmit sucks April 30, 2007

Filed under: Apple — Tom @ 3:48 am

Why did I buy this shitty FTP program? It sucks, I wish they made Filezilla for mac.

How does it suck, you ask? Ok, so I connect to my fileserver via FTP since that’s the way I roll, and I transfer a folder, Since I’m transferring a folder it’ll drill down and grab the files, one at a time, even though I said transfer 3 at once. It’s using the queue for all transfers, so I don’t know why it’s doing this. Maybe the queue works differently than it does in, oh I don’t know, sane programs.

And so it will transfer a few files, and almost every time it will finish prematurely, saying some file (this time it was the 5th of 11) matched the one I had on my side (I am transferring a folder that did not exist, so there is no way this already matched), so it doesn’t have to transfer.

What happened here? Well it seems that Transmit downloaded the file, and wasn’t sure if it finished, so it tried again and saw that it apparently DID finish. So it stopped, and didn’t transfer ANY MORE FILES, just skipping 6 files. The only thing that works (and even it isn’t perfect, I’ve actually ended up creating par files on both ends to verify the files transferred properly and sometimes, they haven’t and the pars do repair them) is synchronizing the folders.

I wish Transmit didn’t suck, or didn’t suck when talking to Filezilla Server (I haven’t really used it extensively with other ftpds, can I get some reccomendations for ftpds on windows?)

Oh, update: Synchronize didn’t work this time, check out this error for 06.mp3, a file that DID NOT EXIST ON MY COMPUTER:

Error -178: local file appears to be the same as the remote file, download is not necessary

GREAT, LETS NOT DOWNLOAD ANY MORE FROM THIS DIRECTORY. SYNCHRONIZE? HOW ABOUT SYNCHRONIZE UNTIL WE RUN INTO A FILE THAT HAPPENS TO HAVE PROPERLY SYNCHRONIZED, THEN STOP. NO NEED TO DOWNLOAD THE REST, WE SYNCHRONIZED ONE FILE, ISN’T THAT ENOUGH?

 

3 Responses to “Transmit sucks”

  1. Jane Says:

    I don’t know if you’re going to read this or what but..since you said you purchased the app…

    I emailed Panic about the problem you were having with the local/remote files being identical. To solve this problem, hold down Option and go to the Transmit menu and select Advanced Preferences (which would normally say just Preferences). Edit the default server and check the box that says “Keep connections alive during long transfers”. It seems to have solved my issues with that particular error 🙂

  2. Jane Says:

    Oh yeah, I forgot to mention…in the same email to Panic I asked them about the odd queueing behavior in Transmit, and this is what the reply was:

    We’ll be making the queue more flexible in Transmit 4. Some prefer
    having one folder take one queue slot, others don’t.

    So. I guess the two gripes you had (that I also had) will be fixed with the next version 🙂 For that matter, I also asked about FXP but that’s still iffy for version 4.

  3. David Says:

    Have you seen the Unison file synchronizer?
    Or the rsync command-line tool?

    I mean, obviously you haven’t even looked at Wikipedia: Comparison of FTP client software,
    or you would already know “they” do make Filezilla for the Mac.


Leave a Reply

